Several weeks ago, Attorney General William Barr and the Department of Justice looked at the possibility of withholding federal tax dollars from certain cities.

The cities on the potential chopping block? Those that stand in the way of law enforcement in multiple ways, according to the DOJ’s specifications.

And now, Barr’s team has released its findings, and three Democrat-run cities have officially been labeled “anarchist jurisdictions.”

To earn that label, the city’s had to meet a series of requirements. Here are a few:

  • Whether a jurisdiction forbids the police force from intervening to restore order amid widespread or sustained violence or destruction.
  • Whether a jurisdiction disempowers or defunds police departments.
  • Whether a jurisdiction unreasonably refuses to accept offers of law enforcement assistance from the Federal Government.

Following a series of protests and riots across the country, Barr and the DOJ decided to open an investigation into how certain cities were being run.

And as it turns out, they settled on 3 cities that are now in Washington’s dog house.

Those three are New York City, Portland, and Seattle.

For NYC, the DOC cited the disturbing rise in shootings (in July, they were up 177% compared to July 2019), the cancellation of a new police recruiting class, and cutting $1 billion from the NYPD’s FY21 budget.

Barr also called out Mayor de Blasio and Governor Cuomo for “forcefully rejecting federal law enforcement support.”

In Portland, the DOJ metioned “100 consecutive nights of protests marred by vandalism, chaos, and even killing.”

The team also cited a 140 percent year-over-year increase in June shootings, and the Portland City Council removing $15 million from the police bureau.

As for Seattle, the DOJ specifically called out the “Capitol Hill Autonomous Zone” (CHAZ) and “Capitol Hill Occupied Protest ” (CHOP).

In the latter, “person-related crime increased 525% from the same period of time in the same area the year before.”

The DOJ further said that CHOP was allowed to exist for nearly a full month, and during that time two teenagers lost their lives in the zone.

Said AG Barr in a statement:

When state and local leaders impede their own law enforcement officers and agencies from doing their jobs, it endangers innocent citizens who deserve to be protected, including those who are trying to peacefully assemble and protest.

We cannot allow federal tax dollars to be wasted when the safety of the citizenry hangs in the balance.

It is my hope that the cities identified by the Department of Justice today will reverse course and become serious about performing the basic function of government and start protecting their own citizens.

It seems clear that nobody wants to endanger innocent civilians. And the unfortunate rise in civil unrest has caused many citizens to feel unsafe in their own towns and neighborhoods.

The DOJ made it clear today: anarchy won’t be tolerated. And cities that allow anarchy could be significantly punished.

Key Takeaways:

  • Attorney General William Barr and the DOJ announced that 3 U.S. cities have been deemed “anarchist jurisdictions.”
  • The 3 cities are New York City, Portland, and Seattle.
  • The DOJ cites numerous reason for their decision, including sharp increases in violence, as well as the slashing of funding for law enforcement.

Source: The Daily Wire